New York & Federal Laws for LSD

Penalties for sale and possession of LSD

State Penalties for LSD (Acid)


Possession of LSD(Acid) – New York State

An arrest for possessing less than 5 mg of LSD is classified as criminal possession in the 7th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.03), a Class A misdemeanor which carries a penalty of up to one year in jail.

An arrest for possession of 5 mg or more of LSD is classified as criminal possession in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.16), a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 15  years.

An arrest for possession of 25 mg or more of LSD is classified as criminal possession in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.18), a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 17 years.


Sale of LSD (Acid) – New York State

An arrest for selling less than 1 mg of LSD is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 5th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.31), a Class D felony punishable by 1 to 2½ years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 4 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 4½  years.

An arrest for possessing 1 mg or more of LSD with intent to sell is classified as criminal possession in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.16), a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 15  years.

An arrest for selling 1 mg or more of LSD is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.39), a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 15  years.

An arrest for selling 5 mg or more of LSD is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.41), a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 17 years.

Arrested?
Call us now: 646-742-9800


Federal Penalties for LSD (Acid)


Possession of LSD (Acid)

The penalties for possession of LSD are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 844 (*Note: these penalties are for possession only.  Possession of even a small amount will usually be charged as possession with intent to distribute):

  • A first conviction for possession of any amount of LSD is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, as well as a minimum fine of $1,000.
  • second conviction for possession of any amount of LSD is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 15 days and a maximum period of 2 years, as well as a minimum fine of $2,500.
  • third conviction for possession of any amount of LSD is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 90 days and a maximum period of 3 years, as well as a minimum fine of $5,000.

Sale of LSD (Acid)

The penalties for the of sale or possession with intent to sell LSD are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 841
(*Note: these are the penalties for the first conviction with no enhancing factors):

  • Sale or possession with intent to sell less than 1g  of LSD is punishable by up to 20 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 1 gram or more  of a LSD is punishable by up a minmum of 5 years in jail and a maximum of 40 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $2,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 10 grams or more  of a LSD is punishable by up a minmum of 10 years in jail and a maximum of life in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $4,000,000.

Additional Information

Have you been charged with an LSD (Acid) drug offense in New York?

Contact us today for a free consultation: (646) 742-9800