Cocaine/Crack, New York & Federal Laws & Pictures

New York & Federal Laws for Cocaine/Crack

New York Cocaine Laws & Penalties


Possession of Crack/Cocaine in New York State

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 7th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.03)

In New York an arrest for possession of less than 500 mg of cocaine is classified as criminal possession in the 7th degree, a Class A misdemeanor which carries a penalty of up to one year in jail.

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 5th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.06)

An arrest for possession of  500 mg or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal possession in the 5th degree, a Class D felony punishable by 1 to 2 ½ years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 4 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 4½ years.

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 4th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.09)

An arrest for possession of 1/8 of an ounce or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal possession in the 4th degree, a Class C felony punishable by 1 to 5½ years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 8 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 9  years.

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.16)

An arrest for possession of ½ of an ounce or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal possession in the 3rd degree, a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 15  years.

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.18)

An arrest for possession of 4 ounces or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal possession in the 2nd degree, a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 17 years.

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 1st degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.21)

An arrest for possession of 8 ounces or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal possession in the 1st degree, a Class A-I felony punishable by 8 to 20 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 24 years in jail, and previous violent offenders face 15 to 30  years.


Sale of Crack/Cocaine in New York State

Criminal possession of cocaine in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.16)

An arrest for possessing cocaine with intent to sell or is classified as criminal possession in the 3rd degree, a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 15  years.

Criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.39)

An arrest for selling less than ½ ounce of cocaine is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 3rd degree, a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 15  years.

Criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.41)

An arrest for selling ½ ounce or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 2nd degree, a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in jail, and a previous violent offenders could face 17 years.

Criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 1st degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.43)

An arrest for selling 2 ounces or more of cocaine or a cocaine mixture is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 1st degree, a Class A-I felony punishable by 8 to 20 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 24 years in jail, and previous violent offenders face 15 to 30  years.

Arrested?
Call us now: 646-742-9800

Federal Penalties for Cocaine(powder)


Possession of Crack/Cocaine

cocaineThe penalties for possession of cocaine are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 844 (*Note: these penalties are for possession only.  Possession of even a small amount will usually be charged as possession with intent to distribute):

  • A first conviction for possession of any amount of cocaine is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, as well as a minimum fine of $1,000.
  • second conviction for possession of any amount of cocaine is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 15 days and a maximum period of 2 years, as well as a minimum fine of $2,500.
  • third conviction for possession of any amount of cocaine is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 90 days and a maximum period of 3 years, as well as a minimum fine of $5,000.

Sale of Crack/Cocaine

The penalties for the of sale or possession with intent to sell cocaine are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 841 (*Note: these are the penalties for the first conviction with no enhancing factors):

  • Sale or possession with intent to sell less than 500 grams of a mixture containing cocaine is punishable by up to 20 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 500 grams or more of a mixture containing cocaine is punishable by up a minimum of 5 years in jail and a maximum of 40 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $2,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 5 kilogram or more  of a mixture containing cocaine is punishable by up a minimum of 10 years in jail and a maximum of life in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $4,000,000.

Federal Penalties for Crack(cocaine base)


Possession of Crack(cocaine base)

crackThe penalties for possession of crack are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 844 (*Note: these penalties are for possession only.  Possession of even a small amount will usually be charged as possession with intent to distribute):

  • A first conviction for possession of any amount of crack is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, as well as a minimum fine of $1,000.
  • second conviction for possession of any amount of crack is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 15 days and a maximum period of 2 years, as well as a minimum fine of $2,500.
  • third conviction for possession of any amount of cocaine is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 90 days and a maximum period of 3 years, as well as a minimum fine of $5,000.

Sale of Crack(cocaine base)

The penalties for the of sale or possession with intent to sell crack are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 841 (*Note: these are the penalties for the first conviction with no enhancing factors):

  • Sale or possession with intent to sell less than 28 grams of a mixture containing crack is punishable by up to 20 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 28 grams or more of a mixture containing cocaine is punishable by up a minmum of 5 years in jail and a maximum of 40 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $2,000,000.
  • Sale or possession with intent to sell 280 grams or more  of a mixture containing cocaine is punishable by up a minmum of 10 years in jail and a maximum of life in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $4,000,000.

Additional Information

Frequently asked Questions about Drug Crimes
Penalties for other Substances
Federal Sentencing Information

Have you been charged with a cocaine/crack drug offense in New York?

Contact us today for a free consultation: (646) 742-9800