New York & Federal Laws for Crystal Meth

New York Crystal Meth Penalties

New York Penalties for Crystal Methamphetamine (Crystal Meth)


Possession of Crystal Methamphetamine (Crystal Meth)

An arrest for possessing less than ½ of an ounce of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine is classified as criminal possession in the 7th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.03), a Class A misdemeanor which carries a penalty of up to one year in jail.

An arrest for possession of  ½ of an ounce or more of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine is classified as criminal possession in the 4th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.09), a Class C felony punishable by 1 to 5½ years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 8 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 9  years.

An arrest for possession of 2 ounces or more of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine is classified as criminal possession in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.18), a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 17 years.


Sale of Crystal Methamphetamine (Crystal Meth)

An arrest for selling less than 1/8 of an ounce of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine cocaine is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 5th degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.31), a Class D felony punishable by 1 to 2½ years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 4 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 4½  years.

An arrest for possessing 1/8 of an ounce or more of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine with intent to sell is classified as criminal possession in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.16), a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 15  years.

An arrest for selling 1/8 of an ounce or more of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 3rd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.39), a Class B felony punishable by 1 to 9 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 12 years in prison, and a previous violent offender could face 15  years.

An arrest for selling ½ ounce or more of methamphetamine or a mixture containing methamphetamine is classified as criminal sale of a controlled substance in the 2nd degree (New York State Penal Law § 220.41), a Class A-II felony punishable by 3 to 10 years in prison.  Second time offenders may face up to 14 years in jail, and a previous violent offender could face 17 years.

Arrested?
Call us now: 646-742-9800


Federal Penalties for Crystal Methamphetamine


Possession of Crystal Methamphetamine (Crystal Meth)

The penalties for possession of crystal meth are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 844 (*Note: these penalties are for possession only.  Possession of even a small amount will usually be charged as possession with intent to distribute):

  • A first conviction for possession of any amount of crystal meth is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, as well as a minimum fine of $1,000.
  • second conviction for possession of any amount of crystal meth is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 15 days and a maximum period of 2 years, as well as a minimum fine of $2,500.
  • third conviction for possession of any amount of crystal meth is punishable by up to a minimum time in jail of 90 days and a maximum period of 3 years, as well as a minimum fine of $5,000.

Sale of Crystal Methamphetamine (Crystal Meth)

The penalties for the of sale or possession with intent to sell crystal meth are set forth in 21 U.S.C. § 841 (*Note: these are the penalties for the first conviction with no enhancing factors):

Sale or possession with intent to sell less than 5 grams of crystal meth or less than 50 grams of a mixture containing crystal meth is punishable by up to 20 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $1,000,000.

Sale or possession with intent to sell 5 grams or more of crystal meth or 50 grams or more of a mixture containing crystal meth is punishable by up a minmum of 5 years in jail and a maximum of 40 years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $2,000,000.

Sale or possession with intent to sell 50 grams or more  of crystal meth or 50 grams or more of a mixturecontaining crystal meth is punishable by up a minmum of 10 years in jail and a maximum of life in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $4,000,000.


Additional Information

Frequently asked Questions about Drug Crimes

Penalties for other Substances

Federal Sentencing Information

Have you been charged with a crystal meth drug offense in New York?

Contact us today for a free consultation: (646) 742-9800